6-C-2 Skype in the Classroom

In the past I have used Skype many times to connect with my family who lives far away. It is so nice to be able to see family members regularly through Skype, it feels as though we live so close even though we do not. I have used Skype a few times in my profession. A few years ago, I was home schooling a girl who happened to be in the hospital with injuries from a car accident. It was flu season, so I was unable to visit her to keep the patients healthy. I used Skype as a tool for us to be able to communicate about her schooling. I was able to teach several lessons. It was very convenient and productive.

In the future, I plan on using Skype to help my students collaborate with others in the community. Field trips were taken out of our school budget, so my immediate thought was using Skype for virtual field trip type activities. During the school year, we cover a unit on jobs in the community. I could use Skype to allow my students to collaborate and learn about important jobs in the community. It would really give the students a real look into the different careers. These are just a few ideas, but the list of ways to incorporate Skype is endless. By incorporating Skype into my classroom, I hope to give my students more opportunities collaborate and communicate with people in our community.

One thought on “6-C-2 Skype in the Classroom

  1. Jessica, it’s great that you are already using Skype in fantastic ways. I’m sure your hospitalized student truly appreciated your efforts! Kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

